Wednesday, 9 January 2019

Tour Down Under 2018 Photos (Part 1)

Three paramedics in their green uniforms congregate at the McLaren Vale starting line in the crisp morning summer sun. Two are standing with one sitting on a yellow pushbike. Race spectators are gathering behind the blue, white and red barriers behind the paramedics.
Paramedics meet under the starting banner before the race:
Stage 5 McLaren Vale to Willunga via Aldinga
Last year was so hectic, I forgot to share my photos of the 2018 Tour Down Under where even the paramedics are on bikes! 

With little time to spare before the next Tour Down Under rolls around (10–20 January 2019), I've posted more photos, fewer words. Enjoy!

People's Choice Classic Criterium 
14 January 2018

In the shade, as the late afternoon sun dips behind the buildings in the East End of Adelaide (South Australia's capital city), my camera is slower to react to the lower light levels. That's my excuse for the blurry riders in the People's Choice but perhaps they were just going tooo fast!  (The McLaren Vale photos below are much better.)

A breakaway on Hutt Street …

… followed by the bunch.

A wide view of the tree-lined street track.

20 January 2018

The bunting is up in readiness for another glorious day of racing.

Ellis Park Rotunda, McLaren Vale.

Taping down the start line.
Behind are the sign-on board and MC's tent.

The media move in as the riders sign on.
#35 Marcel Sieberg (Germany) and #34 Lars Bak (Denmark) from the Belgian Lotto Soudal team approach the board while the media commentary crew meet under an umbrella.

#31 Andre Greipel (Germany, LTS*)
confers with a Tour Down Under race official.
David McKenzie interviews one of the Spanish Izagirre brothers (Gorka & Jon).
After cycling for different teams previously, in the 2018 Tour Down Under
they are on the same team, together at last (Bahrain-Merida).
I have a feeling that this is #62 Jon at the microphone.

#37 Jens Debusschere (Belgium, LTS*)

Robbie McEwen interviewing Australian rider
#17 Jay McCarthy (BOH*).

#22 Daryl Impey (South Africa, MTS*) with David McKenzie.
He is the holder of the Ochre Jersey and defending champion
of the Tour Down Under in 2019.
Crowds build as more riders sign on.
#163 Egan Gomez (Colombia, SKY*).
#12 Daniel Oss (Italy, BOH*)
#1 Richie Porte (Australia, BMC*)

As 11:00 a.m. nears, riders begin positioning themselves at the start line.

Front row includes (L–R): #6 Patrick Bevin (New Zealand, BMC),
#112 Jose Gonçalves (Portugal, TKA),
#94 Pierre Latour (France, ALM), #53 Nicholas Dlamini (South Africa, DDD),
#2 Tom Bohli (Switzerland, BMC), #154 Daan Olivier (Netherlands, TLJ).
Second Row: unidentified TKA rider, #176 Ruben Guerreiro (Portugal, TFS),
#91 Ben Gastauer (Luxembourg, ALM).*

Joining the second row: #174 Niklas Eg (Denmark, TFS).
Third row: #161 Salvatore Puccio (Italy, SKY),
#183 Zak Dempster (Australia, AUS).*

From left to right: #183 Zak Dempster (Australia, AUS), #117 Mads Wurtz Schmidt (Denmark, TKA), #174 Niklas Eg (Denmark, TFS),
#53 Nicholas Dlamini (South Africa, DDD),
#2 Tom Bohli (Switzerland, BMC),
#154 Daan Olivier (Netherlands, TLJ), #46 Marco Marcato (Italy, UAD).*

Spectators sought every vantage point.

Is that Dutch rider Tom Leezer (#156,TLJ*) with Andre Greipel?

Austrian rider Georg Preidler
of the French FDJ team was
happy to smile for the camera.
He was the only Austrian rider in the race!

May these pictures give you a bit of the Tour Down Under experience.

Do you enjoy cycling? 
Do you have a favourite rider or team?
I'd love to know!

If you have any questions or thoughts, feel free to use the 'comment box' below 
or email

But wait! There's more …  
The rest of the photos with links to video can be found in Part 2! 

* Team Codes 2018
ALM  AG2R La Mondiale (France)
AST  Astana Pro Team (Kazakhstan)

AUS  Unisa (Australia)
BMC  BMC Racing Team (United States)
BOH  Bora-Hansgrohe

DDD  Team Dimension Data (South Africa)
EFD  Education First-Drapac (United States)

FDJ  FDJ (France)
LTS  Lotto Soudal (Belgium)
MOV  Movistar (Spain)
MTS  Mitchelton-Scott (Australia)
QST  Quick-Step Floors (Belgium)
SKY  Team Sky (Great Britain)
SUN  Team Sunweb (Germany)
TBM  Team Bahrain-Merida (Bahrain)
TKA  Team Katusha Alpecin (Switzerland)
TLJ  Team Lotto NL Jumbo (Netherlands)
TFS  Trek-Segafredo (United States)
UAD  UAE Team Emirates (United Arab Emirates)

Related Posts on Lupey Loops

"Tour Down Under 2018 Photos (Part 2)", 10 January 2019:

"International Visitors", 8 January 2019:

"Tour Down Under 2017 at Marvellous McLaren Vale", 3 February 2017:

"Ready, Get Set for Victor Harbor & Tour Down Under 2017", 20 January 2017:

"Tour Down Under 2017 People's Choice Classic", 17 January 2017:

Links to Further Information

ABC News, Cycling:

ABC News, ""Paul Sherwen, SBS Tour de France broadcaster and former cyclist, dies aged 62", 3 December 2018:

Bacon, Ellis, "5 riders to watch at the 2019 Tour Down Under", Cycling News, 9 January 2019:

Bike SA:

Cycling Central, "TDU news: Sagan arrives, Porte ready, Cipollini out" [online article], Special Broadcasting Service (SBS), Australia, 6 January 2018:  

Peter Sagan, website:

Richie Porte website:

SBS Cycling Central:

Tour Down Under:

Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI):

No comments:

Post a Comment